Home Education

Off On Our Hols…

cornwall0001Our impending holiday is almost here; four nights in a farm cottage in Cornwall. I am very excited about this as it’s on a working farm and the kids are able to get up close and personal with the animals, and even help out with the milking of the cows.

I am also absolutely terrified. Usually I drive – everywhere. The Man does not enjoy driving and avoids it at all costs. I have driven us to Tuscany and back (three times), Barcelona, and a handful of places in France. The furthest The Man has driven in one journey is about 30 miles. Due to my ongoing back issues, I will be the passenger this time, for the entire six hour journey. The driving will be completely out of my control. I don’t make a good passenger, The Man doesn’t make a good driver – this is going to be “fun”!

On a positive note though, as we are staying in the UK this time, there is no need to submit the Exit Check information, and I don’t need to worry about passports, as well as a myriad of other things. But… I still need my lists!

For now, here are my tips for travelling with children:

  • Have travel games, activities, and snacks ready for the journey
  • Don’t forget your child’s favourite blanket and/or toy
  • Kids will need the loo – have provisions or a plan for dealing with this
  • Fully charge your electronics before you head off – they will be a lifesaver when all else fails
  • Pack plenty of snacks
  • If it’s a long journey, research play parks along the route – the kids will be able to stretch and expel some energy, and you’ll have some much needed space
  • Allow extra time – somehow traveling with children always takes longer
  • Do a recce on Google Street View of your final location – there is nothing worse than driving for eight hours, only to get lost in the last five minutes
  • Did I mention snacks?
  • Make sure anything you might need during the journey is in the footwells, not in the boot – you don’t want to have to pull over every time you need something
  • Take baby wipes – even if your children aren’t little anymore, they always seem to come in handy!

Don’t forget to enjoy your holiday!!

Leave a comment